Additional Information

AmeriGEO Week 2019

August 19 - 23, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Registration Now Open

AmeriGEO Week 2019

August 19 - 23, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Registration Now Open

AmeriGEO Week 2019

August 19 - 23, San Miguel, Lima, Peru
Registration Now Open

 

General Enrtry & Exit Information

Passport

A passport with six months validity is required to enter and depart Peru. Migraciones (Immigration) authorities may also require evidence of return/onward travel. Be sure your date and place of entry is officially documented by Migraciones, whether you arrive at a port, airport or land border. Retain the record of your entry, as you will need it when you depart.
Your length of approved stay will be determined by border officials at the time of entry, and can range from 30 to 183 days. Extensions for tourists are not usually approved, and overstays result in fines.

Visas

The entry into Peru for Citizens of most American and Western European countries does not require a tourist visa. The maximum period of stay granted by the authorities is 183 days (cannot be extended). For longer periods of time for other purposes (business, study, work, etc.) it is necessary to apply for the corresponding visa at a Peruvian consulate.
In order to enter Peru you are required to carry a valid passport. Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, Venezuela and Chile may enter with their valid national identification document.

Check here if you need a visa

Requirements for Exit

If you do not have an entry record, you are not allowed to exit the country until immigration authorities confirm the time and place of your entry in to the country. Depending on the circumstances, this can be a difficult process, costing considerable time and money to resolve. Make sure Immigration (Migraciones) records your entry, and then save the record for your exit. This is particularly important when entering through remote border crossings, where often the proper officials are not present.

Immediately report lost/stolen passports to local police and keep the report. You must apply for a new passport at the Embassy and obtain a replacement entry record from Migraciones prior to exiting Peru.

The entry into Peru for Citizens of most American and Western European countries does not require a tourist visa. The maximum period of stay granted by the authorities is 183 days (cannot be extended). For longer periods of time for other purposes (business, study, work, etc.) it is necessary to apply for the corresponding visa at a Peruvian consulate.

In order to enter Peru you are required to carry a valid passport. Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, Venezuela and Chile may enter with their valid national identification document.

Currency

The "Nuevo Sol" (S/.) is the official currency of Peru. There are notes of the following denominations: 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 soles. Coins are 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 Nuevos Soles.Countless shops, restaurants, hotels and gas stations accept US Dollars. It is possible to exchange currency in banks and currency exchange agencies. There are also “cambistas” street currency exchangers, but the safety of the transaction is not guaranteed. Currency exchange agencies are regularly open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, from Monday to Friday, and half day on SaturdaysMost cities in the country have ATMs connected in most cases to Plus (Visa), Cirrus (MasterCard/Maestro), American Express and other networks. You may withdraw Nuevos Soles or US Dollars, although the exchange rates tend to be less favorable.

Timezone

Peru has one time zone -5h, GMT

Lima 12:00 h London 17:00 h
New York 12:00 h Berlin 18:00 h
Buenos Aires 14:00 h Paris 18:00 h
Santiago 13:00 h Tokyo 02:00 h (*)
México D.F. 11:00 h Sydney 03:00 h (*)

* of following day

 

Health

Hygienic conditions in Peru are good, particularly in the cities. Over the last year health services have been modernized and expanded to many hospitals and clinics in order to provide adequate care; however it is always advisable to purchase your own travel health insurance.

Vaccination

There are no mandatory vaccines for entry into Peru. Should you wish to visit the Amazonian region of the country, the Ministry of Health recommends vaccinations against yellow fever. Find more information on vaccines, here.

Vaccination

Recommended for

Destinations where it is recommended

Chicken pox

Travelers who have never had chicken pox

The whole country

Hepatitis A

All travelers

The whole country

Hepatitis B

Travelers who expect to be in contact with local population for extended periods of time

Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín, Madre de Dios

Yellow Fever

Travelers in jungle areas below 2,300 meters (7,546 feet)

Amazonas, Loreto, San Martín, Ucayali, Junín, Madre de Dios

The vaccination against yellow fever must be administered at least 10 days before the date of travel to be effective.

Further health information for travelers: